Pantech Laser: First Impressions

Last week, I upgraded from my Samsung Eternity to a Pantech Laser. There are a few things that I found should have been in the firmware (and could easily be added in a firmware update) but I think it is a worthy upgrade.

Instead of writing a long blog post about the phone, I’ll just do a list of pro’s and cons. A full review should be up in a month or so.

Pros:

  • Responsive Touch Screen – Yes, the screen is resistive (like the Eternity) but is much more responsive than the Eternity. I don’t have to use a stylus or fingernail to touch the screen.
  • Nice physical keyboard – After using a touch only keyboard for 1.5 years, it’s nice to have a physical keyboard. The keys are isolated, which makes them very easy to type on. I’ll cover the keyboard more extensively on the review.
  • Thinness – This phone is thinner than my Eternity, and it has a full slide-out keyboard!
  • UI – The user interface on t he Laser is very nice, and is a little different than Samsung’s TouchWiz UI. It’s nice to have something a little different.
  • Threaded Texting – If you’ve never used threaded texting, it’s basically like an IM conversation. This makes it much easier to follow conversations.
  • Standard MicroUSB Charging/Data Port – This is so nice compared to the proprietary port on the Eternity. If your charger breaks, you can simply buy a general, cheaper charger.

Cons:

  • Lack of support for displaying files – The Laser can play back images, video, and audio, but if you want to view anything else, you’re pretty much out of luck. It can’t display HTML files with the built in browser, nor can it open plain text (.txt) files.
  • Can’t install apps..yet – I haven’t been able to install any kind of app (I don’t have a data plan so I can’t use the browser. If you have a data plan you can probably install apps.) through the data cable. I will keep trying and make a blog post if I figure it out.
  • Not able to zoom in on pictures – You can zoom in the camera while taking pictures, but not after you take a picture. You also cannot zoom in on pictures people send you or that are on your memory card.
  • Laggy UI – The interface on the Laser is nice, however it can be laggy at times. This isn’t a huge deal though.
  • Non hot-swappable SD card – To remove the MicroSD card, you have to remove the battery. It was the same way on my Eternity though.

Undecided:

  • Camera – I haven’t gotten to use the camera much, so I’ll write more about the camera in the review.

Do you have the Laser or are thinking about getting it? If you have any questions about the Laser (or anything else technology related), leave it in the comments below or use the Contact Me page.

, ,

  1. #1 by Bobby on May 10, 2011 - 5:54 pm

    Yeah i am getting mine tomorrow, so excited!

  2. #2 by Katrina on May 30, 2011 - 6:04 pm

    Thank you i have the eternity and in 2 days i will recieve the laser im hoping the touch will be easier since on mine you cant use the left side which is more imprtant than any part of the screen im more excited to recieve my phone now(:

    • #3 by Lee on May 30, 2011 - 7:54 pm

      So far I haven’t have many problems with the Laser. I’ll hopefully put up a full review sometime soon (possibly next weekend if I remember).

  3. #4 by Thavady on March 11, 2012 - 10:07 pm

    I am trying to figure out a way to get the pictures on my phone to my laptop, but I can’y get my sd card out. You said that to take out the micro sd card you must take out the battery. But then what?? Please reply ASAP.

    • #5 by Lee on March 28, 2012 - 5:46 pm

      Sorry for this being so late, I didn’t notice your comment.
      To get the SD card out, take out the battery. Then place your finger on the card and slide it down to where the battery would have been (the battery blocks it from sliding downwards, that’s why you have to take it out). It should just slide right out. If you are having trouble, try pushing more towards the edge of the SD card.

  1. Pantech Laser Review « Lee's Tech Website
