Windows 7 bans words from being pinned

I have recently found an annoyance in Windows 7. Certain items can’t be pinned to the taskbar, and the reason is a little stupid.

I use Revo Uninstaller to uninstall programs (if you don’t know, it cleans up files and registry entries left behind after the uninstall). To try and clean up my desktop, I tried putting it’s shortcut on the taskbar. Trying to drag it to the taskbar failed, so I went into the start menu hoping there would be a “Pin to taskbar” context menu item. There wasn’t. There wasn’t even a “Pin to start menu” item either. Very curious about why I couldn’t pin this shortcut anywhere, I started searching the internet. Apparently, there are certain words that can’t be in the shortcut or it won’t be pinned. After looking a little more, I found out that there is an entry in the registry that contains every banned word. The word “Install” is amongst them. I renamed the shortcut to “Revo” and Windows allowed me to pin it just fine. For anyone curious, here’s a list of every word from the registry entry:

  • Documentation
  • Help
  • Install
  • More Info
  • Readme
  • Read me
  • Read First
  • Setup
  • Support
  • What’s New
  • Remove

That’s a LOT of words not allowed on the start menu.

There is a fix however. If you edit the key to remove a word (then log off and back on) it will allow you to pin something with that word. I didn’t try clearing the whole entry (I recommend you don’t) but removing Documentation allowed me to pin an exe file titled documentation.

The registry entry is located at:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileAssociation

and the entry is AddRemoveNames

In case you want to revert back to the default, the original contents of the entry are:

Documentation;Help;Install;More Info;Readme;Read me;Read First;Setup;Support;What’s New;Remove

 

If you liked this post, please look around my blog. There are links to my Twitter and Youtube at the right, and ways to contact me in the top navigation bar.

