Google Chrome in Linux: CrossOver Chromium

A while ago I tried to run Google Chrome in WINE but I was stopped right at the installation. After a little Googling, I found out that Chromium runs in Linux too. I just downloaded the .deb and I’m going to install it.

The install is basically the same as any .deb file, a box with a statusbar saying “Installing Package File”

It put it’s own entry in my Applications menu.

It looks exactly the same on Linux as Windows. This is because its not a native linux application. It’s using Crossover to basically run chrome like a windows app.

Unfortunatly, it is extremely laggy but it was a fun experiment. I don’t think i will keep it on my computer though.

Here is a screenshot of it running on my desktop:

Chrome on Linux

Chrome on Linux

  1. #1 by Ryan on March 12, 2011 - 7:55 am

    IMO, Ubuntu’s for little kids. :p

    It is useful to get up and going in two hours though. A short amount of time for a Linux distribution.

