Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Two days ago, on October 30th, Ubuntu 8.10 named Intrepid Ibex, was released. I downloaded it and used the LiveCD for a few minutes. To me, it didn’t feel too different from Hardy although, I don’t use it on a daily basis. I had a few problems partitioning but that was mostly problems on my part, I had to go into Windows and do a defrag and “chkdsk” but after that I had no errors with partitioning.

GOOD THINGS ABOUT INTREPID IBEX:

It hasen’t changed anything too big that would require a learning curve to existing users

It’s added new features such as “hot swapping” of networks (not tested on my part though)

It’s installer seemed more “visual” to me.

BAD THINGS ABOUT INTREPID IBEX:

It seemed somewhat buggy (freezing and things like that)

It prompted me for my WEP key when I turned it on a second time (I’m not sure if it will again though, i’ve only booted it twice)

I can’t say much about speed because I installed it on a different computer than hardy and this one has better specs.

