AIM 6.8 in Ubuntu Hardy via Wine

Yay! It’s another This program in Wine post!! The reason why I like doing these kinds of posts is because it’s kind of fun to get (or try to get) a Windows program to run under Linux.

The setup has gone nicely, now just to see if it actually runs.
It seems to hang a bit but so far its hanging to the point where it doesn’t want to run.
OK I’m trying to manually launch it now and again it’s not wanting to run. No error messages just nothing. According to WineHQ (the Wine homepage) it doesn’t open for the test either. I will look up earlier version of AIM and see if I can get a Windows version of AIM on this box (even though its a dual boot :))

Attempting to install AIM 5.9
Installation was successful
The desktop shortcut doesn’t appear to work but the start menu shortcut shows like something happens. Unfortunately it doesn’t appear to be working either. I’m going to try to tinker more 🙂
I can’t get it to work, so I’m giving up for now.. Please comment if you have something for me to try, or if you want to discuss anything on this blog please visit the forum

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Kelly Brown on June 13, 2009 - 1:11 am

    Hi, interest post. I’ll write you later about few questions!

  2. #2 by KattyBlackyard on June 15, 2009 - 2:05 pm

    Hi, very nice post. I have been wonder’n bout this issue,so thanks for posting

  3. #3 by GarykPatton on June 16, 2009 - 8:20 pm

    Hi! I like your srticle and I would like very much to read some more information on this issue. Will you post some more?

  1. JackT
