Google's Web Browser: Chrome

I just downloaded Chrome, the web browser from Google. It is currently in BETA but for being in BETA it is pretty well put together. I am posting this from Chrome.
My first thoughts are that the interface reminds me too much of the default Windows XP theme. If/when they come out with a skinning feature then that is the first thing I will do.
It takes, to me, about the same time to load web pages in Chrome and Firefox.

One thing that I really don’t like is that there is no menu bar. I could get used to the settings button next to the address bar but it feels like I’m using another OS.
Another thing that I don’t really like is that the tabs are above the address bar. I know, a very minor thing. I really like how easy it is to move tabs and that it is very graphical when moving them. It actually shows the tabs moving around as you move a tab.

I don’t like that there isn’t an actual status bar. I’m used to having a status bar separating the browser from the Windows taskbar.

Overall I think it’s a good browser with a lot of potential. I have uninstalled it today but I decided to give it another chance and I think that I’ll stick with Firefox but I’ll keep this browser on my machine in case I want to do a “second look” once it’s out of beta.

Screenshot of Google's Chrome web browser

, , , , , ,

